BURKINA FASO

Unity-Progress-Justice

REPUBLIC OF MALI

One people-one Goal -one Faith



REPUBLIC OF NIGER

Brotherhood-Labor-Progress





JOINT COMMUNIQUE BY: BURKINA FASO, THE REPUBLIC OF MALI AND THE REPUBLIC OF NIGER

Eager to achieve integration between the States in the sub-region and urged by the ideals of brotherhood, solidarity, mutual sustenance, peace and development, their Excellencies- General Aboubacar Sangoulé Lamizana, General Moussa Traoré and Lieutenant-Colonel Seyni Kountché-respectively Heads of State of Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Mali and Niger, created- with twelve (12) of their peers- on May 28, 1975, in Lagos, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

49 years later, the dedicated people of Burkina, Mali and Niger notice with great regret, bitterness and great disappointment that their organization is shifting away from the ideals of its founding fathers and Pan-Africanism ideals, as well.

In addition, ECOWAS- under the influence of foreign powers, violating its fundamental principleshas become a threat for its member states and its people who were rather expecting joyfulness thereof.

Indeed, the organization did not provide assistance to our States in our vital fight against terrorism and insecurity. Worse still, when our States decided to fully control matters, ECOWAS adopted an irrational and unacceptable approach by imposing illegal, illegitimate, inhumane and irresponsible sanctions in violation of its own regulations- thereby making populations - already in distress due to years of violence imposed by instrumentalized and remote-controlled terrorist- further vulnerable.

Faced with this persisting situation, their Excellencies- Captain Ibrahim Traoré, Colonel Assimi Goïta and Brigadier General Abdourahamane Tiani, respectively Head of State of Burkina Faso, the Republic of Mali and the Republic of Niger- assuming all their responsibilities in history and responding to the expectations, concerns and aspirations of their populations- have decided, by virtue of their sovereignty, to withdraw their countries- Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger- from the Economic Community of West African States, with immediate effect.

Done in Ouagadougou, Bamako, and Niamey on January 28, 2024



Le Ministre

Rimtalba Jean Emmanuel
OUEDRAOGO
Minister of State for
Communication, Arts, Tourism
and Government Spokesperson
Officer of the order of the Stallion

For the Republic of Mali



Colonel Abdoulaye MAIGA
Minister of State for Territorial
Administration and Decentralization
and Government Spokesperson
Knight of the National Order

For the Republic of Niger



Colonel-Major
Abdourahamane
AMADOU
Minister for Youth,
Culture, Arts and
Sports and
Spokesperson for the
National Council for
Homeland Rescue
Commander of the National
Order of Niger